Property Management Licensing

For complete information on Licensing in South Carolina, link to:
South Carolina Real Estate Commission or South Carolina Real Estate Law
 

Property Management - 30 Classroom hours
Course number OPL011004

SC license law requires a Broker, Salesman or Property Manager license to manage property for others. Individuals who work for property management and leasing firms that are not involved with sales typically hold the Property Manager's license. The course consists of seven (7) four-hour sessions and an additional two-hour test session.

The individual may apply to take the SC Property Manager exam after successfully attending the eight classes and passing the final exam. Once the exam has been passed the next step is to apply for the license. An applicant who is going to work for a property management firm will apply for the property manager license. An applicant who will open his or her own firm will apply for the Property Manager-in-charge license.

Subjects covered include the following:

The cost of the Property Management course is $315, this includes materials for the class. Click to see schedule of dates and times for Property Management class.

 

School Terms & Policies
  1. SC Real Estate Commission has approved this mandatory Property manager’s course — OPL011004.

  2. Anyone who pays the course fee may attend this course at the Wyatt Institute without discrimination. State law requires a high school diploma or equivalent to get a real estate Property Manager’s license

  3. Refunds—If you are unable to start the course for any reason and notify us by 4 pm on the Thursday before class starts or if the course is canceled for any reason, you may transfer to another of our scheduled Property Management classes or you may request a refund of any tuition you have paid.  If you don’t attend and don’t give required notice by 4 pm on the Thursday before class, you will forfeit $75.  Refunds will be paid within 10 days of request.
  4. If you drop out after attending the first class you will not receive a refund.  You may transfer to our next regularly scheduled Property Management class by immediately notifying Wyatt Institute in writing.  Transfer forms are available by request.

  5. Returned checks—There will be a $35 charge if your check is returned from the bank for any reason.

  6. Cell phones and pagers must be turned off during class.  Tape-recording any part of this course is not permitted.  Use of computers in the classroom is not allowed in this course.

  7. To receive credit for the Property Management course you must score a passing grade on the final exam. The final exams simulate the state exam using multiple-choice questions.  There are 50 questions on the final exam.  Two (2) hours are allowed for the exam.

  8. Attendance Requirements — Attendance of all eight sessions is mandatory.  Be on time to class.  No more than a total of one hour may be missed without making it up.  The final exam may not be taken until the first seven sessions have been attended.

  9. Making up missed class time — Up to two sessions may be made up by videotape by appointment Monday thru Friday.  Each session will take four hours including breaks to make up.  Any more than two sessions must be made up in the next class.  All missed sessions must be made up and exam taken within two weeks after the last class. (*If not making up on video see #10)

  10. If you prefer not to make up any classes on video, you may choose to make up all missed classes by attending the regularly scheduled class.

  11. Make-up Exams—Anyone who fails to pass the final exam may take one (1) retake exam free of charge. Before taking the retake, the student may watch videotapes free of charge on the subject areas where they are having problems.  The retake exam must be taken within sixty 60) days from the date on your final exam.

  12. Guarantee—After passing the Wyatt Institute course, if you take the SC Property Manager’s licensing exam within two (2) months and do not pass; you may re-enroll free of charge in a regularly scheduled course within 6 months after the date on this agreement.  After six months, full tuition will be charged to re-take the course.